EUROPEAN LAB – JUNE 9TH

On 9 June 2021, Lyon-based event European Lab will be live on 5 webradios all around Europe for a series of four conferences and debates dedicated to the role of music in responding to contemporary challenges.

From decolonising electronic music to tackling climate change, artists and music industry actors from all sides are rising up to current challenges by voicing progressive, inclusive and sustainable alternatives to dominant models. As part of its 3-day programme, dedicated to the “battle of the narratives”, European Lab will welcome artists, activists and new voices from the music industry and underrepresented communities to discuss current issues and collectively invent new narratives.

 

Decolonising electronic music (11am – 12am, CET)

The first talk of the day as part of European Lab (@european_lab) program is dealing with ‘Decolonizing electronic music’. Together, 5 speakers will discuss about how can artists shake off Western music conventions, featuring Katarzyna Kwiatkowska from Oramics (@oramicspl), Tunisian artist Deena Abdelwahed (@deena_abdelwahed), Lisbon-based Herlander (@herlanthere) and Bruno Trigo Gonçalves from @quanticaonline, as well as artist and researcher Khyam Allami (@khyamallami).

 

Music as a means to tackle climate challenges (12:30am – 1:30pm)

Next European Lab (@european_lab) panel discussion will address the artists’ and music ability to shape discourses and raise awareness about climate issues. People around the table are French artists Simo Cell (@simocellmusic), Camille Hervé from @musicdeclares_france and Eden Kupermintz who is the editor-in-chief for @heavyblogisheavy.

 

Giving a platform to new voices (2:00pm – 3:00pm)

Third conversation of European Lab (@european_lab) today is untitled ‘Giving a platform to new voices’ and is dedicated to activists in different communities who are getting involved in initiatives to encourage the emergence of new voices within their music scene. From Niks Delanancy (@niksdelanancy) through Black Artist Database (@blackdatabase) to Aiko Okamoto from female:pressure (@femalepressure_official) or Akati (@akati.k), these players are shaping new narratives within the current music industry.

 

Musical narratives: hybridisation & experimentation (3:30pm – 4:30pm)

Last European Lab (@european_lab) conversation of the day will explore the interaction between the world of video games and music, of new formats within the music industry where we see more and more experimentation and hybridisation. NYC-based duo Pussykrew (@pvssykrew), French artist Hugo Richel (@hugorichel) and Pedro Vian (@pedro_vian) from Modern Obscure Music (@modernobsuremusic) will be the speakers of this panel discussion.

 

Air date: 09/06/2021 11:00 - 09/06/2021 17:00

Language: English

Show: Specials

Tags: Festival